A lot of people have way too much time on their hands…

I might be one of them, of course, but as I type this I am also working on heading out to do all the other semi-important things I have scheduled for today.

What I mean is: a lot of people say “I’m bored.  There’s nothing to do.”  This is not just limited to small children or teenagers, this seeps into adulthood.  The reason I mention this is because I have seen people talking on their cell phones complaining about having nothing to do while they are doing something else.  Maybe it’s a generational-gap thing?

I own a cellphone (who do you take me for? A retrograde?,) but I don’t spend a lot of time on it…that is: the cellphone is not part of my daily entertainment.  I’ve seen people waiting for the “walking man” at a corner so they can cross to the other side and, because they don’t seem to want to just wait, they start dialing the cellphone they’re holding in their hand.

What is up with that?

What do they talk about?  What is so gosh-darned important, nay…IMPERATIVE…that they can’t wait until they get to the other side of the street or sit down somewhere?

I walk around looking at people.  I hardly ever get a look back.  People seem to be hiding behind whatever titillating conversation they think they’re carrying on with a minuscule piece of equipment.  People order coffee, pay for groceries, order lunch, pump gas, retrieve money from ATMs, load things into their car trunk, open and close doors, eat…while talking on the phone.

Is anyone THAT interesting?  I mean this as a serious question.  I can’t be ON all the time, if you know what I mean.  There are times when I simply, GASP, have absolutely nothing to say or contribute.

Same goes for texting.  I have seen people just tap, tap, tapping away with their thumbs and then letting out a peal of laughter (that, by the way, sounds totally affected) and tap, tap, tapping away.  The funny thing is, and I’ve asked my son and his friends about this in the past, they are replying in abbreviated expressions: LOL, WTF, OMG, ROTFLMAO, BRB, TTYL…

I see people sitting together at a Starbucks, each with a drink and a cellphone, totally engrossed in the individual conversation they are conducting through this device and only engaging with the other person to tell them what they are talking about on their cellphones.  My turn to say: OMG, WTF…UR KIDDING!

The more connected…the more apart…

WHAT, really, is so friggin’ important you can’t wait to get home, kick your shoes off, relax and then discuss it over the phone?  And does so-and-so REALLY need to know right now that you just found the cutest shoes ever?

To get here I had to learn to communicate, only now it seems that communicating is obsolete.  We don’t talk to each other; we talk at each other.  Is anyone listening?  Is anyone understanding or empathizing?  Or is it just OMG from here on end?

To get here I learned something that seems to be utterly useless these day…whoopee ding yay me.

 

